Chapel Hill Comics is proud to announce that as part of our 10th/35th Anniversary Festivities, we will host Lucy Knisley on Saturday, May 18, from 1pm until 3pm, when she will sign her new memoir, Relish!

We’ll have copies of Relish, as well as her previous memoir, French Milk, and copies of the Adventure Time comics for which she has provided stories! Here is our Facebook page for the event if you want to RSVP or invite your friends!

Lucy Knisley loves food. The daughter of a chef and a gourmet, this talented young cartoonist comes by her obsession honestly. In her forthright, thoughtful, and funny memoir, Lucy traces key episodes in her life thus far, framed by what she was eating at the time and lessons learned about food, cooking, and life.

Each chapter is bookended with an illustrated recipe—many of them treasured family dishes, and a few of them Lucy’s original inventions. In this book, you’ll learn how to cook everything from chai to chicken. A welcome read for anyone who ever felt more passion for a sandwich than is strictly speaking proper, Relish is a graphic novel for our time: it invites the reader to celebrate food as a connection to our bodies and a connection to the earth, rather than an enemy, a compulsion, or a consumer product.

“Step aside, Joy of Cooking.” – Alison Bechdel

“It’s masterful.” – Fleen

A Paste 10 Most Anticipated Graphic Novels of 2013

Lucy Knisley was born in New York City, raised in Rhinebeck, NY, and educated in Chicago. She has come home to roost in a tiny apartment in Manhattan, where she can be closer to her mom’s cooking. Her comics about life, food, travel and her adventures have gained her a devoted audience on the Internet, and she is now doing food comics for the magazine Saveur, who just sent her to Africa. Lucy’s first book, French Milk, is a travelogue about a trip to Paris. Relish is her most recent work.

 

Looking for the page to preorder the Exclusive Cover to have it shipped to you? Click Here!

adventure-time-banner

WHAT TIME IS IT? ADVENTURE TIME!

Adventure Time, the huge Cartoon Network hit, will soon be a comic, published by KABOOM!, and Chapel Hill Comics is having a party to celebrate! We will host a launch party for Adventure Time featuring tasty snacks, an Adventure Time costume contest and an EXCLUSIVE CHAPEL HILL COMICS COVER to Adventure Time #1! The launch party will be Saturday, February 18, from 4pm until 7pm. Mark your calendars now!

Adventure Time #1: Chapel Hill Comics Exclusive Variant Cover

The cover features Adventure Time characters Marceline the Vampire Queen and Princess Bubblegum, and is drawn by Chapel Hill Comics owner Andrew Neal, which means if you want a signed copy (of his cover, anyway), we’ll be able to help you out. He ain’t gonna miss this party. This cover will be limited to just 500 copies, and will be available at the event for $15 ($15 is the in-store exclusive price. If you order online, it’s $20).We will be happy to reserve copies for you!

We’ll also have copies of the regular Adventure Time cover too, which will be priced at $3.99:
ADVENTURE_TIME_1

If you’re local and want us to hold you a copy of either the Exclusive Chapel Hill Comics cover or the regular cover, let us know! If you are not local and want to preorder the comic, we will be happy to ship! Just call the store at (919) 967-4439 during our business hours with your credit card, or you can PREORDER IT HERE.

Adventure Time Party!
Saturday, February 18
4pm until 7pm

Thanks!

 

Brandee McCoy, author
The Scrog Frogs
Signing at Chapel Hill Comics
Saturday, April 16 from 2-4pm

UNC- School of Law and undergraduate Alumni, E. Brandee McCoy, will celebrate the release of her new children’s book, The Scrog Frogs- Straight out of Swampton, at Chapel Hill Comics!

Introducing the Scrog Frogs is book one of a series where Marcus, a blue poison arrow dart frog, imagines a family of musical colorful frogs, the Scrogs, outside of his window as he escapes the possibility of going extinct. The book’s vibrant colors, upbeat story and musical theme combine to make it a unique, artistic work that young children greatly enjoy. The book is the first in a planned series of Scrog Frog children’s books. The second book, It’s Raining Scrogs, will be released in June of 2011.

E. Brandee McCoy created the Scrog’s Frogs as a student at UNC-School of Law while her daughter attended Mary Scroggs Elementary School. Balancing life as a single mother and graduate student took a toll on McCoy’s daughter’s academic standing. McCoy immediately quit one her jobs and began volunteering at the school. During these visits, the socioeconomic divide between the children who performed well and those that did not was obvious. McCoy believed that some of the kids simply felt out of place. Their discomfort had everything to do with the lack of money and resources at home, not capabilities. McCoy jazzed up the Mary Scrogg’s mascot so the kids that were bused to the school for diversity purposes felt a sense of inclusion and not exclusion. Thus the Scrog Frogs- Straight out Swampton was born. The Scrogs may be from the side of swamp where the landscaping is not as a posh, but they come from loving homes with strong family values. McCoy’s work and imagination paid off. Her daughter’s academic performance greatly improved and she achieved a perfect score in her reading class.

In 2010, McCoy spearheaded an Appalachian Literacy Campaign in West Virginia at various schools, libraries and other organizations like the Boy’s Club of America. She reached out to sponsors to help bring the book to some of West Virginia most impoverished children.

McCoy will embark on publicity tour this summer while the books and the series will be available for national and international distribution.

Thanks,
Andrew Neal
Chapel Hill Comics
316 W Franklin St
Chapel Hill, NC 27516

 

Does anyone remember our first signing guest at our old location next to Mediterranean Deli?  It was Jason Latour! Now, Chapel Hill Comics is proud to welcome Jason back to sign his new crime graphic novel Noche Roja! Jason is a fantastic artist who has done some incredible work on this graphic novel.  Here’s what the book is about:

Written by SIMON OLIVER; Art by JASON LATOUR; Cover by LEE BERMEJO

In the tradition of Chinatown and L.A. Confidential, writer Simon Oliver explores a hidden world of corruption where money, sex, politics and crime all add up to the same thing.

In the desert just south of the border, young women are turning up murdered. No suspects. No clues. And authorities seem uninterested in uncovering any. When ex-private eye Jack Cohen is hired to find one missing girl, he is drawn back into the shadow world between North and South. And there, he must face the terrible tragedy in his past that he’s been running from all these years. Featuring the gritty, stylized artwork of Jason Latour, NOCHE ROJA is a gripping noir tale of how the insatiable craving for cheap consumer goods leads to the ultimate cheapening of life itself.

Noche Roja is a $19.99 Hardcover Vertigo Crime graphic novel for mature readers!

But that’s not all!  Jason did the art for The Last Stand of the Silver Samurai in the most recent Wolverine #1 comic.  We have secured a limited amount of the blank variant cover for this issue, and if you buy one at the event (they’re $3.99!) Jason will sketch you something on the cover!

Want to let us know you’re coming? Here’s a link to the Facebook page for the event!

Click here to read a preview of the book at the DC/Vertigo Blog!

Click here to see art from Noche Roja on Jason Latour’s Flickr page!

Saturday, February 26, from 2-4pm
Chapel Hill Comics
316 W Franklin St
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
(919) 967-4439

Thanks,
Andrew Neal
Chapel Hill Comics
316 W Franklin St
Chapel Hill, NC 27516

 

ORSON SCOTT CARD SIGNING AT CHAPEL HILL COMICS

UP-TO-DATE INFORMATION AS OF February 15, 2011:

New York Times Best-Selling Author Orson Scott Card and Co-Writer Aaron Johnston will be signing their new comic book prequel to Ender’s Game at Chapel Hill Comics!

The first 25 people in line will get a FREE Formic Wars #1 limited edition cover print!

Here’s what we will have in stock!

FORMIC WARS: BURNING EARTH #1 $3.99 – This is the new comic prequel to Ender’s Game.  We will have well over a hundred of these of these.  Will they last?  I hope so!

FORMIC WARS: BURNING EARTH #1 VARIANT COVER by BRIAN HITCH $14.99 – same comic, but with a rare incentive cover.  we have a handful of these, and they will be first come, first serve, starting at opening (11am) Wednesday.

We’ll also have the following Card-related Ender Graphic Novels available:

ENDER’S GAME: BATTLE SCHOOL $24.99
ENDER’S GAME: COMMAND SCHOOL  $24.99
ENDER’S GAME: WAR OF GIFTS $24.99
ENDER’S SHADOW: BATTLE SCHOOL $24.99
ENDER’S SHADOW: COMMAND SCHOOL $24.99
ORSON SCOTT CARD’S ENDER IN EXILE $24.99

We’ll also have some of the individual comic issues from the series which are collected in the hardcovers, depending on whether they are still in print.

Plus, we’ll have the following novels by Orson Scott Card available for sale at the event: PATHFINDER and THE LOST GATE.

There will be signing limits: Orson Scott Card will sign any number of the Formic Wars comics and do signature-only signings on any of his other comics. Also, he will happily sign one personalized novel for each person, and do signature-only signings on up to four others.

Calendar details: ORSON SCOTT CARD & AARON JOHNSTON
Wednesday, February 16, 5pm-7pm
Chapel Hill Comics
316 W Franklin St
Chapel Hill, NC 27516
(919) 967-4439

FORMIC WARS: BURNING EARTH #1 (of 7)
FORMIC WARS: BURNING EARTH #1 (of 7) HITCH WRAPAROUND VARIANT Written by ORSON SCOTT CARD & AARON JOHNSTON
Penciled by GIANCARLO CARACUZZO
Cover by SALVADOR LARROCA
Variant Cover by BRYAN HITCH
Parental Advisory …$3.99
On-Sale – 2/16/11

© 2012 Test Suffusion theme by Sayontan Sinha